Pro tempore Regional Coordination

It is the coordinating body of the Member Countries and constitutes the representation of the Regional Mechanism before other national, regional and global bodies. It is made up of the technical point (highest environmental authority) and the political focal point (Ministry of Foreign Relations) of each country. It is a rotating, two-year position, open to application or nomination by the member countries. It is elected by the Council of Member Countries.

  • To promote coordination between countries through the exchange of lessons learned in the sustainable development of mountains.
  • To identify potential areas of joint work, cooperation and common problems and alternative solutions.
  • To encourage cooperation among Member Countries towards the consensus of a position of the region regarding mountains in events at a global level.

Technical Secretariat

Plays a supportive and technical formulation role. It is in charge of an institution linked to the theme of mountains and / or a national group of mountains, with technical, financial and regional articulation capacity. The institution does not necessarily belong to the country that assumes the Pro Tempore Regional Coordination. The permanence of the institution is subject to the decision of the Council of Member Countries.

  • To identify opportunities for regional action in the field of management, promotion and conservation of mountain ecosystems in order to promote the implementation of actions of the Action Plan.
  • To consolidate sources of financing and to search for resources.

Member countries


Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, Comercio Internacional y Culto

Ministerio de Ambiente y Desarrollo Sostenible de Argentina


Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores

Ministerio de Medio Ambiente y Agua


Ministerio del Ambiente y Desarrollo Sostenible


Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Chile

Ministerio del Medio Ambiente


Ministerio del Ambiente, Agua y Transición Ecológica


Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores

Instituto Nacional de Investigación en Glaciares y Ecosistemas de Montaña


Ministerio del Poder Popular para el Ecosocialismo